Graduate Program

Forestry is one of four options in the Master of Science program in Natural Resources.

The program includes options in Environmental Science & Management (ESM), Forestry, Watershed & Wildland Sciences (FWWS), Wildlife, and Fisheries, and provides graduate training in traditional disciplines, as well as flexibility for training in the interdisciplinary aspects of natural resources. 

Below is a list of Forestry faculty, their research interests and links to their web pages. If you are interested in working with a particular person, contact them directly and be sure to mention how your research interest aligns with that person.

The M.S. curriculum requires completion of a thesis as part of the student’s training for research in management of natural resources. Candidates for the degree are required to consult with an appropriate faculty committee and prepare individual programs of study which must be approved by the committee. Information about the M.S. in Natural Resources programs, including minimum entrance requirements, can be found in the Humboldt Catalog.

For information about the Natural Resources graduate program visit the Graduate Program page.

For more information contact: Natural Resources Graduate Program, College of Natural Resources & Sciences, Cal Poly Humboldt, Arcata, CA 95521-8299, (707) 826-3256,

Graduate Faculty

David Greene

David Greene

Professor - Forest Ecology

Dr. Pascall Berrill

Pascal Berrill

Professor - Silviculture & Restoration

Susan Marshall

Susan Edinger Marshall

Professor - Wildland Soils

Dr. Hunter Harrill

Hunter Harrill

Assistant Professor- Forest Operations

Jeffrey  Kane

Jeffrey Kane

Professor - Fire Ecology & Fuels Management

Dr. Erin Kelly

Erin Kelly

Professor - Forest Policy & Administration

Lucy Kerhoulas

Lucy Kerhoulas

Associate Professor - Forest Ecophysiology

Dr. Rosemary Sherriff

Rosemary Sherriff

Professor - Disturbance Ecology

Dr. Stephen Sillett

Stephen Sillett

Professor - Redwood Forest Ecology

Dr. Andrew Stubblefiled

Andrew Stubblefield

Professor - Hydrology and Watershed Management

Alan Tepley

Alan Tepley

Assistant Professor - Wildland Fire Science & Management